Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s been a long while since I last did Music Monday! Aside from Colbie Caillat, Kina Grannis is another artist I was following online before they released their debut album. Kina Grannis’ style of music is on a similar audio platform to Colbie Caillat’s, so it’s of no surprise why I enjoy it as well!

Following unsigned independent musicians online over youtube and myspace is a unique experience. Fans are able to get personal with these talented people, often conversing with them through comments. Kina displays her fan appreciation by rolling shout-outs thrown by her fans at the end of each video. COOL!

Kina’s album Stairwells is a colourful expression of Kina’s musical talent as a singer and songwriter.  Her songbird ballads maintain some of its acoustic rawness found in her original youtube songs. It’s still Kina with a little more pizazz. If you’ve followed her, you will feel like you’ve purchased an album created by a friend. Her music is warm, familiar, and charming.

Awww cute photo with her guitar!

My absolute favourite song is “Valentine“, which you can download for free on her official website here

Lyrics:

Love, it’s a special day
We should celebrate and appreciate
That you and me found something pretty neat
And I know some say this day is arbitrary

But it’s a good excuse to put our love to use
Baby, I know what to do
Baby, I will love you
I’ll love you, I’ll love you

Love, I don’t need those things
I don’t need no ring
I don’t need anything
But you with me
‘Cause in your company
I feel happy, oh so happy and complete

And it’s a good excuse to put our love to use
Baby, I know what to do
Baby, I will love you
I’ll love you, I’ll love you

So won’t you be my honey bee?
Giving me kisses all the time
Be mine, be my Valentine

So won’t you be my honey bee?
Giving sweet kisses all the time
Be mine, be my Valentine


